KIT Library

GrafikWould you like to have this page translated automatically? Then click on the link below to download data from the external Google Translate Server. Note: Personal data (e.g. your IP address) will be transmitted to this server. Google Translate now ...

Publish & Read

KIT supports Open Access publications by KIT scientists through Publish & Read agreements.
Fotocollage Publish & ReadCollage. Foto: Pixabay, StockSnap und KIT

Content

sprungmarken_marker_3452

General information

Publish & Read contracts (or PAR contracts) allow corresponding authors of participating institutions to publish their articles Open Access with no extra cost. This offer is valid for articles in hybrid journals of the relevant publishers. KIT Library pays for this offer through the journal subscription fees. The offer is not mandatory. Authors can decide against publishing their articles Open Access. These articles can only be accessed by members of institutions that are subscribed to the relevant journals. Please not that KIT Library will not be reimbursed for articles by authors that decide against Open Access.

To increase visibility and impact of publications CC licencing is beneficial. Publishers normally offer several kinds of CC licences. KIT Library recommends the licence type CC-BY.

Information on specific agreements

The following PAR agreements exist for KIT:

  Show all | Hide all

CUP Cambridge University Press

KIT has had a "Read & Publish agreement" withCambridge University Press since 2019. Corresponding authors of KIT have the possibility to publish their publications in more than 290 hybrid journals of the publishing house without additional costs and without any limits concerning the number of published articles in the Open Access model. Depending on the journal, different Creative Commons licences are available. KIT Library recommends CC BY. Corresponding authors are given the opportunity to complete an OA publication licence form during the submission process. Please refer to the step-by-step instructions (German | English) for submission details.

Royal Society of Chemistry RSC

KIT Library has been subscribing to RSC journals in a "Read & Publish" model since 2019. Corresponding authors of KIT have the option of publishing their publications Open Access without any additional costs and without any limits concerning the number of published articles. The Creative Commons licenses CC BY and CC BY-NC are available. KIT Library recommends CC BY. Corresponding authors who want to publish in the "participating journals" will automatically be recognized by the publisher via their institutional e-mail address and will be referred to the "Article Licensing System". Therefore, please use your address with the domain kit.edu.

Springer Open Choice (DEAL)

The DEAL contract with Springer Nature Publishers offers corresponding authors that are members of KIT the option of publishing their publications Open Access in hybrid journals without any additional costs. The offer is not mandatory. Authors can decide against publishing their articles Open Access. There are no additional fees for authors that decide to publish Open Access in these hybrid journals. KIT Library covers theses costs through its subscription payment. Please note that KIT Library will not be reimbursed for articles by authors that decide against Open Access.

 

If you are offered different kinds of CC licences during the submission process, KIT Library recommends the licence CC-BY. The agreement covers Original Papers, Review Papers, Brief Communications, Editorial Notes, Book Reviews, Letters und Reports. Invited Reviews and Brief Communications in Springer Medicine Journals are not covered. Please use your email address with the domain kit.edu during the submission process. That makes it easier to assign your article to KIT’s DEAL account. 

 

Here you can find subscription journals that are only partially covered by the DEAL contract. The journals allow read-only access but there is no Open Access support.

 

The second component of the DEAL contract with Springer Nature Publishers refers to publications in about 450 genuine Open Access journals (Gold OA) by Biomed Central BMC and SpringerOpen (including “Nature Communications” and “Scientfic Reports”). Corresponding authors that are affiliated to KIT receive discounts on publication fees. KIT Publication Fund can cover for these fees according to the Funding Requirements.

Wiley Online Open (DEAL)

The DEAL contract with Wiley Publishers offers corresponding authors that are members of KIT the option of publishing their publications Open Access in hybrid journals without any additional costs. The offer is not mandatory. Authors can decide against publishing their articles Open Access. There are no additional fees for authors that decide to publish Open Access in these hybrid journals. KIT Library covers theses costs through its subscription payment. Please note that KIT Library will not be reimbursed for articles by authors that decide against Open Access.

 

If you are offered different kinds of CC licences during the submission process, KIT Library recommends the licence CC-BY. The agreement covers “Primary Research Articles” and “Review Articles”. Please use your email address with the domain kit.edu during the submission process. That makes it easier to assign your article to KIT’s DEAL account.
 
Here you can find subscription journals that are only partially covered by the DEAL contract. The journals allow read-only access but there is no Open Access support.

 

The second component of the DEAL contract with Wiley Publishers refers to publications in genuine Open Access journals („Wiley Open Access“). Corresponding authors that are affiliated  to KIT receive discounts on  publication fees. KIT Publication Fund can cover for these fees according to the Funding Requirements. Here you can find information on the submission process.

Contact and further information

KIT-Bibliothek

Publish & Read

Das KIT fördert Open-Access-Publizieren seiner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler durch Publish & Read-Vereinbarungen mit Verlagen.
Fotocollage Publish & ReadCollage. Foto: Pixabay, StockSnap und KIT

Inhalt

sprungmarken_marker_3452

Allgemeines

Publish & Read-Vereinbarungen (auch als PAR, Read & Publish usw. bezeichnet) bieten den Korrespondenzautorinnen und –autoren der teilnehmenden Einrichtungen die Möglichkeit, ohne weitere Kosten ihre Artikel in den Subskriptionszeitschriften des jeweiligen Verlages als Open-Access-Veröffentlichung zu publizieren. Finanziert wird das Angebot durch die Subskriptionszahlung der Bibliothek. Das Angebot ist freiwillig und Autorinnen und Autoren haben die Option, sich gegen die Veröffentlichung im Open Access zu entscheiden und ihren Beitrag nicht weltweit frei, sondern nur den Angehörigen zahlender Einrichtungen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Eine finanzielle Erstattung ist damit aber nicht verbunden, sondern auch diese Publikationen werden bei der angestrebten Umstellung auf publikationsbezogene Finanzierung der Zeitschriften einkalkuliert.

Um die Sichtbarkeit und damit den Impact einer Publikation zu erhöhen, ist eine weltweit freie Verfügbarkeit unter CC-Lizensierung von Vorteil. Die Verlage bieten i.d.R. verschiedene CC-Zertifikate an. Soweit verfügbar empfiehlt die KIT-Bibliothek den Korrespondenzautorinnen und –autoren des KIT die Auswahl der Lizenz CC-BY.

Informationen zu einzelnen Vereinbarungen

Für das KIT bestehen aktuell folgende PAR-Vereinbarungen:

  Alle aufklappen | Alle zuklappen

CUP Cambridge University Press

Seit 2019 besteht eine "Read & Publish-Vereinbarung" des KIT mit dem Verlag Cambridge University Press. Korrespondierende Autorinnen und Autoren des KIT haben die Möglichkeit, ihre Publikationen in den rund 290 Hybrid-Zeitschriften des Verlages ohne weitere Kosten und ohne Deckelung der Artikelzahl im Open Access-Modell zu veröffentlichen. Zur Auswahl stehen je nach Zeitschrift verschiedene Lizenzen. Die KIT-Bibliothek empfiehlt CC BY. Die Korrespondenzautorinnen und -Autoren erhalten im Submissionsprozess Gelegenheit, ein OA-Veröffentlichungs-Lizenzformular auszufüllen. Bei der Zuordnung von Autorinnen und Autoren zum KIT ist es außerdem hilfreich, wenn Sie bei der Submission die Mail-Domain des KIT verwenden. Einzelheiten zur Submission entnehmen Sie bitte der Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung (Deutsch | Englisch).

Royal Society of Chemistry RSC

Die KIT-Bibliothek bezieht die Zeitschriften der RSC seit 2019 in einem „Read & Publish-Modell“. Korrespondierende Autoren des KIT haben die Möglichkeit, ihre Publikationen ohne weitere Kosten und ohne Deckelung der Artikelzahl im Open Access-Modell zu veröffentlichen. Zur Auswahl stehen die Creative-Commons-Lizenzen CC BY und CC BY-NC. Die KIT-Bibliothek empfiehlt CC BY. Korrespondenzautorinnen und -autoren des KIT, die in den "begünstigten Zeitschriften" veröffentlichen möchten, werden vom Verlag automatisch über ihre institutionelle E-Mail-Adresse erkannt und auf das "Article Licensing System" geführt. Bitte nutzen Sie daher Ihre Adresse der Domain kit.edu.

Springer Open Choice (DEAL)

Im Rahmen des DEAL-Vertrages mit Springer Nature ist es Korrespondenzautorinnen und –autoren des KIT möglich, ihre Artikel in den Subskriptionszeitschriften des Verlages ohne weitere Kosten als Open-Access-Publikation zu veröffentlichen. Es steht Ihnen frei, das Angebot anzunehmen. Weitere Kosten sind für Sie mit der Open-Access-Veröffentlichung nicht verbunden, sondern die Finanzierung erfolgt über die Subskriptionszahlung der KIT-Bibliothek aus deren Literaturbudget. Umgekehrt ist bei Verzicht auf die Open-Access-Option („Opt Out“) keine Erstattung vorgesehen und die Publikationen werden dem KIT bei der angestrebten Umstellung auf ein publikationsbasiertes Finanzierungsmodell der Zeitschriften angerechnet.

 

Sollten im Submissionsprozess verschiedene Lizenzen zur Auswahl angeboten werden, empfiehlt die KIT-Bibliothek die Lizensierung als CC-BY. Die Vereinbarung gilt für Original Papers, Review Papers, Brief Communications, Editorial Notes, Book Reviews, Letters und Reports. Invited Reviews und Brief Communications in Springer Medizin Journals sind nicht abgedeckt. Bei der Zuordnung von Autorinnen und Autoren zum KIT ist es hilfreich, wenn Sie bei der Submission die Mail-Domain des KIT verwenden.

 

Zeitschriften des Verlages Springer Nature, für die im Rahmen von DEAL zwar der lesende Zugang finanziert wird, aber keine Open-Access-Förderung besteht, finden Sie hier.

 

Eine zweite Komponente des DEAL-Vertrages mit Springer Nature betrifft die Veröffentlichungen in den rd. 450 reinen Open-Access-Zeitschriften (Gold-OA) der Verlage BiomedCentral BMC und SpringerOpen inkl. Nature Communications und Scientific Reports. Hier werden Korrespondenzautorinnen und-autoren des KIT Rabatte auf die Publikationsgebühren (APCs) gewährt. Die Publikationsgebühren können auf Antrag entsprechend den Konditionen des KIT-Publikationsfonds von der KIT-Bibliothek übernommen werden.

Wiley Online Open (DEAL)

Im Rahmen des DEAL-Vertrages mit Wiley ist es Korrespondenzautorinnen und –autoren des KIT möglich, ihre Artikel in den Subskriptionszeitschriften des Verlages ohne weitere Kosten als Open-Access-Publikation zu veröffentlichen. Es steht Ihnen frei, das Angebot anzunehmen. Weitere Kosten sind für Sie mit der Open-Access-Veröffentlichung nicht verbunden, sondern die Finanzierung erfolgt über die Subskriptionszahlung der KIT-Bibliothek aus deren Literaturbudget. Umgekehrt ist bei Verzicht auf die Open-Access-Option („Opt Out“) keine Erstattung vorgesehen und die Publikationen werden dem KIT bei der angestrebten Umstellung auf ein publikationsbasiertes Finanzierungsmodell der Zeitschriften angerechnet.

 

Sollten im Submissionsprozess verschiedene Lizenzen zur Auswahl angeboten werden, empfiehlt die KIT-Bibliothek die Lizensierung als CC-BY. Die Vereinbarung gilt für "Primary Research Article" und "Review Article". Bei der Zuordnung von Autorinnen und Autoren zum KIT ist es außerdem hilfreich, wenn Sie bei der Submission die Mail-Domain des KIT verwenden.

 

Subskriptionszeitschriften des Verlages Wiley, für die im Rahmen von DEAL zwar der lesende Zugang finanziert wird, aber keine Open-Access-Förderung besteht, finden Sie hier.

 

Eine zweite Komponente des DEAL-Vertrages mit Wiley betrifft die Veröffentlichungen in den reinen Open-Access-Zeitschriften (Gold-OA) des Verlages („Wiley Open Access“). Hier werden Korrespondenzautorinnen und –autoren des KIT Rabatte auf die Publikationsgebühren gewährt. Die Publikationsgebühren können auf Antrag entsprechend den Konditionen des KIT-Publikationsfonds von der KIT-Bibliothek übernommen werden. Eine Handreichung des Verlags zur Submission finden Sie hier.

Kontakt und weiterführende Informationen